fbpx
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on stumbleupon
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
delete tracked locations through google maps

Delete Tracked Locations Through Google Maps

We can all agree on the fact that GPS installed in our smartphones is one of the best features available. The days of only using MapQuest are over, and we couldn’t be more grateful. If you use Google Maps, however, it might behoove you to know that it tracks all of your locations. We understand that probably all of you don’t want this to happen any longer. Privacy is often hard to come by these days, after all. Read to discover how to make that stop immediately. 

A New Feature from Maps

The option to delete your information hasn’t always been available, however. The new feature only became available this past summer, and it didn’t really make headline news. If you’ve tried to locate this feature but weren’t able to, that’s likely because it’s through the Maps app, and not through settings like many would expect.

  1. Open Google Maps on iPhone or Android.
  2. Tap the menu bar on the top-left of the app.
  3. Choose “Your Timeline.”
  4. Tap the three dots on the top-right of the screen.
  5. Choose “Settings and privacy.”
  6. Select “Automatically delete location history.”
  7. Change the setting from “Keep until I delete manually” to “Keep for 18 months” or “Keep for 3 months.”

Now, having your locations saved arguably isn’t the worst thing in the world. For instance, if you need to look back and see where you were on a certain day, it makes it easy for you to do so. That being said, let’s say someone steals your phone and can hack into it. If they want, they can track all of your previous locations if you haven’t cleared them. This is obviously not something we want, and this is where it could turn into a problem if not handled regularly. 

We recommend deleting your data after three months. Once that time is up, you probably won’t need to access those places again anytime soon. In the meantime, keep driving and getting there safely with the help of Google Maps and other GPS assistants!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe for more

Our Latest Work

Take a peek inside our Wonderworld

F.A.Q.

Frequently Asked Questions

Some of the most common questions, along with the complete answers from our social media support experts.

On your LinkedIn profile, there is a button toward the bottom of your profile that says, “Link Facebook.” When you click here, you will be asked for your Facebook information. When you do this, you can easily connect everything together.

On your LinkedIn profile, go to your profile drop down menu in the top right hand corner. Open it and click on “Privacy and Settings.” Directly under “Settings” in the top right hand corner, click on “Manage your Twitter Settings.” This will bring you to another page which invites you to add your Twitter information.

Go to your profile and click “lists.” Create a short description for each list, then add different Twitter accounts. You can decide whether you want them to be public or private.

On your homepage, find groups. In the top right hand corner, there will be a button that says, “create group.” Click on this and make a group and add descriptions and invite people to be a part of it.

Still have questions?

NEED AN EXPERT?

contact us

[contact-form-7 id="2684" html_class="cf7_custom_style_1"]

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.